Live Healthy Red Wing
Complete Streets

What is a Complete Streets Community?

A Complete Streets community is one where the streets are safe, convenient, and pleasant for everyone: pedestrians, bicyclists, and transit users.

In 2010, Red Wing passed its Complete Streets Policy Resolution. This resolution complements the City of Red Wing’s Comprehensive Plan, approved in 2007, which calls for an increased number of safe and aesthetically pleasing byways for bicyclists and pedestrians.

In 2011, Red Wing adopted a Bicycle-Pedestrian Master Plan.

To join our advocacy group for bicyclists and pedestrians, please email Michelle Leise at mjleise@gmail.com.

These web sites provide details on Complete Streets.

       National Complete Streets Coalition
       Minnesota Complete Streets Coalition
       American Planning Assoc: Complete Streets

What's Happening in Red Wing

After community input, the City of Red Wing has designed plans to revamp three major downtown intersections to increase safety for everyone. MnDot will be making final decisions in early 2012, and construction is scheduled to begin in 2014. To see the plans, contact Planning Director Brian Peterson at brian.peterson@ci.red-wing.mn.us.

To contact City Council members in support of Complete Streets measures, please email the following people:

Mayor:

Dan Bender, dan.bender@ci.red-wing.mn.us

City Council Members: 

Jason Sebion, First Ward, jsebion3@gmail.com

Lisa Pritchard Bayley, Second Ward, lisa.bayley@ci.red-wing.mn.us

Dean Hove, First and Second Wards, deanhove@charter.net

Mike Schultz, Third Ward, michael.v.schultz@charter.net

Peggy Rehder, Fourth Ward, peggy.rehder@ci.red-wing.mn.us

Ralph Rauterkus, Third and Fourth Wards, ralph.rauterkus@ci.red-wing.mn.us

Marilyn Meinke, Member-at-Large, marilyn.meinke@ci.red-wing.mn.us

If you have ideas you would like to share with city planners and engineers, please call or email City of Red Wing Planning Director Brian Peterson at 651-385-3617 or brian.peterson@ci.red-wing.mn.us.